Angebote zu "Obama" (2 Treffer)

Kategorien [Filter löschen]

Shops

Tough Love (eBook, ePUB)
15,89 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Recalling pivotal moments from her dynamic career on the front lines of American diplomacy and foreign policy, Susan E. Rice—National Security Advisor to President Barack Obama and US Ambassador to the United Nations—reveals her surprising story with unflinching candor. Mother, wife, scholar, diplomat, and fierce champion of American interests and values, Susan Rice powerfully connects the personal and the professional. Taught early, with tough love, how to compete and excel as an African American woman in settings where people of color are few, Susan now shares the wisdom she learned along the way. Laying bare the family struggles that shaped her early life in Washington, D.C., she also examines the ancestral legacies that influenced her. Rice´s elders—immigrants on one side and descendants of slaves on the other—had high expectations that each generation would rise. And rise they did, but not without paying it forward—in uniform and in the pulpit, as educators, community leaders, and public servants. Susan too rose rapidly. She served throughout the Clinton administration, becoming one of the nation´s youngest assistant secretaries of state and, later, one of President Obama´s most trusted advisors. Rice provides an insider´s account of some of the most complex issues confronting the United States over three decades, ranging from ´´Black Hawk Down´´ in Somalia to the genocide in Rwanda and the East Africa embassy bombings in the late 1990s, and from conflicts in Libya and Syria to the Ebola epidemic, a secret channel to Iran, and the opening to Cuba during the Obama years. With unmatched insight and characteristic bluntness, she reveals previously untold stories behind recent national security challenges, including confrontations with Russia and China, the war against ISIS, the struggle to contain the fallout from Edward Snowden´s NSA leaks, the U.S. response to Russian interference in the 2016 election, and the surreal transition to the Trump administration. Although you might think you know Susan Rice—whose name became synonymous with Benghazi following her Sunday news show appearances after the deadly 2012 terrorist attacks in Libya—now; through these pages, you truly will know her for the first time. Often mischaracterized by both political opponents and champions, Rice emerges as neither a villain nor a victim, but a strong, resilient, compassionate leader. Intimate, sometimes humorous, but always candid, Tough Love makes an urgent appeal to the American public to bridge our dangerous domestic divides in order to preserve our democracy and sustain our global leadership.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 19.09.2019
Zum Angebot
Games of Deception: The True Story of the First...
16,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

*´´Rivaling the nonfiction works of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown´s The Boys in the Boat....Even readers who don´t appreciate sports will find this story a page-turner.´´ --School Library Connection (starred review) ´´An insightful, gripping account of basketball and bias.´´ --Kirkus Reviews From the New York Times bestselling author of Strong Inside comes the remarkable true story of the birth of Olympic basketball at the 1936 Summer Games in Hitler´s Germany. Perfect for fans of The Boys in the Boat and Unbroken. On a scorching hot day in July 1936, thousands of people cheered as the U.S. Olympic teams boarded the S.S. Manhattan, bound for Berlin. Among the athletes were the 14 players representing the first-ever U.S. Olympic basketball team. As thousands of supporters waved American flags on the docks, it was easy to miss the one courageous man holding a BOYCOTT NAZI GERMANY sign. But it was too late for a boycott now; the ship had already left the harbor. 1936 was a turbulent time in world history. Adolf Hitler had gained power in Germany three years earlier. Jewish people and political opponents of the Nazis were the targets of vicious mistreatment, yet were unaware of the horrors that awaited them in the coming years. But the Olympians on board the S.S. Manhattan and other international visitors wouldn´t see any signs of trouble in Berlin. Streets were swept, storefronts were painted, and every German citizen greeted them with a smile. Like a movie set, it was all just a facade, meant to distract from the terrible things happening behind the scenes. This is the incredible true story of basketball, from its invention by James Naismith in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1891, to the sport´s Olympic debut in Berlin and the eclectic mix of people, events and propaganda on both sides of the Atlantic that made it all possible. Includes photos throughout, a Who´s-Who of the 1936 Olympics, bibliography, and index. Praise for Games of Deception: ´´Maraniss does a great job of blending basketball action with the horror of Hitler´s Berlin to bring this fascinating, frightening, you-can´t-make-this-stuff-up moment in history to life.´´ -Steve Sheinkin, New York Times bestselling author of Bomb and Undefeated ´´I was blown away by Games of Deception....It´s a fascinating, fast-paced, well-reasoned, and well-written account of the hidden-in-plain-sight horrors and atrocities that underpinned sports, politics, and propaganda in the United States and Germany. This is an important read.´´ -Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honor winning author of Hitler Youth ´´A richly reported and stylishly told reminder how, when you scratch at a sports story, the real world often lurks just beneath.´´ --Alexander Wolff, New York Times bestselling author of The Audacity of Hoop: Basketball and the Age of Obama

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 19.09.2019
Zum Angebot