Angebote zu "Alice" (5 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

The Guilt We Carry , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 540min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Since the tragic accident that brutally ended her childhood, Alice O’Farrell has been haunted by her past. Unable to bear the guilt of negligence that led to the death of her younger brother, 15-year-old Alice runs away from home. She lives on the streets, makes one bad decision after another, and drowns her guilt in alcohol. But everything changes when she stumbles upon a startling scene: a dead drug dealer and a duffel bag stuffed with 91 thousand dollars in cash. Recognizing this as an opportunity for a fresh start, Alice takes the money and runs. However, she soon finds herself fleeing from more than her own past. The dead dealer’s drug supplier wants his money back and will destroy her to get it. A merciless manhunt ensues, headed by Sinclair, a formidable opponent who is relentless, shrewd, and brutal. As blood is spilled all around her, Alice is eventually faced with her day of reckoning. In the end, The Guilt We Carry is a story about redemption and forgiveness, but at what cost?Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Winter’s Bone, Publishers Weekly praises The Guilt We Carry as “a gripping tale of redemption” and New York Journal of Books declares it “the Breaking Bad of the book world". 1. Language: English. Narrator: Jake Perrine. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/181560/bk_acx0_181560_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 22.10.2020
Zum Angebot
Fractured Trust: Renee Steele, Book 1 , Hörbuch...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

It is 1982, and assistant prosecuting attorney Renee Steele works for the Sex Crimes Unit of the Akers County Prosecuting Attorney's Office in Sparrow's Crossing, Michigan. In her latest case, Renee prosecutes wealthy businessman Kurt Bochner, who is accused of raping a young woman during a date. Alice Prescott, a cocktail waitress and aspiring model, claims the former local college star quarterback date raped her. The case hits close to home for Renee, who was the victim of date rape 13 years earlier while in law school. She never pressed charges against her assailant, but the crime has affected both her professional and personal life. She is currently dating corporate attorney Lawrence Quinn, but finds herself attracted to Sparrow's Crossing police detective Paul Kelly, an investigator for her current rape case. Renee is thrown for a loop when Paul's separate investigation into an international escort service operation yields unexpected results that lead to a shocking betrayal. In the meantime, she is pitted in court against a formidable opponent, defense attorney Deana Krane, who has never lost a case and is determined to win an acquittal for her client Kurt Bochner. In Fractured Trust, date rape and prostitution are put under the microscope. The results are anything but certain, and there is a stunning climax. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Carmen Beaubeaux. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/020513/bk_acx0_020513_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 22.10.2020
Zum Angebot
The Maze at Windermere
16,00 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Named one of the best books of 2018 by The Washington Post, The Seattle Times, and The Advocate"Staggeringly brilliant . . . You'll start The Maze of Windermere with bewilderment, but you'll close it in awe." -The Washington Post"Pitch perfect." -New York Times Book ReviewWhen a drunken party guest challenges him to a late-night tennis match, Sandy Allison finds himself unexpectedly entangled in the monied world of Newport, Rhode Island. A former touring pro a little down on his luck, Sandy has nothing to stake against the vintage motorcycle his opponent wagers. But then Alice DuPont-the young heiress to a Newport mansion called Windermere-offers up her diamond necklace.With this reckless wager begins a dazzling narrative odyssey that braids together four centuries of aspiration and adversity in this renowned seaside society capital. A witty and urbane bachelor of the Gilded Age embarks on a high-risk scheme to marry into a fortune, a young Henry James, soon to make his mark on the world, turns himself to his craft with harrowing social consequences, an aristocratic British officer during the American Revolution carries on a courtship that leads to murder, and, in Newport's earliest days, a tragically orphaned Quaker girl imagines a way forward for herself and the slave girl she has inherited.Gregory Blake Smith weaves these intersecting worlds into a rich, brilliant tapestry. A deftly layered novel of love, ambition, and duplicity, The Maze at Windermere charts a voyage across the ages into the maze of the human heart.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.10.2020
Zum Angebot
How To Write a Great Story
9,34 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Stories are incredibly powerful so if you become a writer, be careful. Your book could change the world.Caroline Lawrence shares her best tips in this illustrated guide to creative writing and storytelling for readers and writers aged 9+. . .Featuring examples from all kinds of stories, including Black Panther, Alice in Wonderland, Harry Potter, The Incredibles and Star Wars, Caroline explores every aspect of writing - from brainstorming a setting, to creating an opponent and choosing your hero's greatest weakness.Inspired by Caroline's school events and workshops, and illustrated with Linzie Hunter's lively black and white artwork on every page, this is the perfect addition to the bookshelves of young writers everywhere.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.10.2020
Zum Angebot